Using disk space in a Kafka cluster
In Cloud Databases, a portion of disk space is reserved for system needs. The total amount of reserved space depends on the version of Kafka.
The reserved portion of disk space is not available for hosting databases. Keep this in mind when choosing a configuration line.
You can track disk usage using disk full notifications and metrics. For more information about metrics, see the Kafka cluster and node monitoring instructions.
When the cluster disk is 95% full or more, the cluster will switch to the DISK_FULL status and become read-only. This is necessary to prevent complete locking or corruption of the cluster due to lack of free space. To make the cluster available for read and write, free up disk space or scale the cluster and select a configuration with a larger disk size than in the previous configuration.
Disk occupancy notifications
Disk usage notifications are sent to the email address of the Account Owner and control panel users who are subscribed to the notification category Products and services. Notifications are sent when disk usage reaches 80% and 95%.
Free up disk space
To free up disk space, you can:
Delete a topic
- In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Databases.
- Open the Active tab.
- Open the cluster page → Topics tab.
- In the topic menu, select Delete.
- Enter the topic name to confirm deletion.
- Click Delete.
Configure a data cleanup policy
After changing the log.retention.minutes and log.retention.hours parameters in the DBMS settings, the cluster will be restarted and will become unavailable during the restart.
To speed up disk cleanup, change the data retention policy in the cluster settings. Kafka will automatically delete data based on the new rules.
- In the control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Cloud Databases.
- Open the Active tab.
- Open the cluster page → Settings tab.
- In the DBMS settings block, click Edit.
- Specify new values for the parameters for configuring the data cleanup policy.
- Click Save.