Scale an OpenSearch cluster
In an OpenSearch Managed Database cluster, you can add or delete a node group.
You can also scale a node group:
- increase the number of nodes in a group — in a node group with the Data role, you can increase the number of nodes up to ten;
- change the node group configuration — increase vCPU, RAM, or disk size. You can select a configuration from a different configuration line, but the disk type used must match and the disk size must be larger. Configuration change time depends on the amount of data in the cluster.
Add a node group
You can add a node group with the Dashboard role and a second node group with the Data role.
-
In the Control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Managed Databases.
-
Open the Active tab.
-
Open the database cluster page → Settings tab.
-
In the Cluster block, click Add node group.
-
Optional: change the node group name.
-
Select a node group role — learn more about roles in the OpenSearch node groups instructions.
-
Select a configuration line.
-
If you selected a line with custom configurations, specify the number of vCPUs, RAM size, and disk size.
-
If you selected a line with fixed configurations, select a configuration.
-
Specify the number of nodes in the group.
-
Optional: to make group nodes accessible from the internet, select the Enable public access checkbox. A separate public IP address will be assigned to each node in the group.
If the cluster subnet does not meet the requirements, enabling public access is unavailable. You can connect a public IP address after adding the group.
-
Click Save.
Scale a node group
Scale the node group when users are least active.
-
In the Control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Managed Databases.
-
Open the Active tab.
-
Open the database cluster page → Settings tab.
-
In the menu of the node group, select Change configuration.
-
Scale the node group. You can:
- select a configuration only with a disk size larger than in the previous configuration;
- increase the number of vCPUs, RAM, and disk size in the custom configuration line;
- select a configuration from another configuration line, but the disk type used must match and the disk size must be larger;
- increase the number of nodes.
-
Click Save.
Delete a node group
You can only delete a node group with the Dashboard role. Node groups with the Manager and Data roles cannot be deleted.
- In the Control panel, in the top menu, click Products and select Managed Databases.
- Open the Active tab.
- Open the database cluster page → Settings tab.
- In the menu of the node group, select Delete.
- Enter the node group name to confirm.
- Click Delete.