Remove bucket
If the bucket has a bucket policy, it must allow the deletion of each object in the bucket and the deletion of the bucket itself; for details, see the Actions subsection of the Bucket policies overview instruction.
Buckets containing no more than 500,000 objects (including object segments) can be deleted via the control panel. Buckets with a larger number of objects can only be deleted via the API.
Deleting a bucket may take up to 24 hours. During the deletion process, no actions can be performed on the bucket except stopping deletion.
Objects in the bucket are deleted one by one. During bucket deletion, outbound traffic and storage volume of not yet deleted objects are billed. DELETE requests are not billed. Learn more about payment and consumption in the S3 billing model and prices instruction.
If a bucket has:
- versioning is enabled — a bucket with versions will not be deleted automatically, you must delete it manually;
- Object Lock is used — only unlocked objects will be deleted. Locked objects and the bucket itself will not be deleted.
Remove bucket
Before removal, complete all API requests related to objects in the bucket.
- In the Control panel, from the top menu, click Products and select S3.
- Go to Buckets.
- In the bucket row, click .
- Enter the bucket name and click Delete. The bucket row will display the status
Deleting. A pop-up notification will appear once the deletion is complete.
Possible errors
In case of an error, a pop-up notification will appear:
Error deleting bucket— internal error, create a ticket;Limit on the number of tasks reached— deletion task limit exceeded (you can delete no more than 10 buckets simultaneously). Wait for other tasks to complete and delete the bucket.
Stop removal
If bucket removal has not finished, you can stop it. When removal is stopped, only the objects that have not yet been deleted remain in the bucket.
- In the Control panel, from the top menu, click Products and select S3.
- Go to Buckets.
- Click the link with the notification about the number of buckets being removed.
- In the bucket row, click .